184MC – Reflection on my Cabinet of Curiosities

As you know cabinet of curiosities is a ‘marvel room’. Inside the room, you can see collections of objects as today’s museum. My ‘marvel room’ is very scary, very spooky and oddly creepy. It is all about horror movies because I have an interest in horror movies. This is my first time to do my own cabinet of curiosities.

concrete-wall-331294_960_720(1)

I used to watch many horror movies from different countries such as United Kingdom, USA, Spain, France, Thailand, Hong Kong, Japan and Korea etc. When I have spare time to stay at home I will watch the horror movie. I have been collecting many horror movies in my mind or my ‘marvel room’. The criteria of the horror movies collection are which movie can make me scared that I will put it into my cabinet. So, I have been collecting a lot of horror movies from different countries. But I found that my criterion is too simple.

As a good horror movie, the narrative is the important part to start making a movie. It is difficult to write a good narrative but you can think about an idea around the villain or demon. The common film colour schemes are always using complementary colour scheme.

complementarycolorwheel

The complementary colour scheme is two colour on opposite side of a colour wheel. Also, if you want to build up a real image of villain, demon or ghost than makeup is significant and using different angle can make a different view. In addition, a lot of movies has deep meaning such as ideology, representation and stereotype. If I haven’t been studying media in the UK, I have ever learnt this knowledge. I think I need to re-build my ‘marvel room’ by using this knowledge to analyse which one is a good horror movie. Not only look at which one is most scary I also need to look at different ways.

Leave a comment